Big Dog & Pappy

I feel that this week can best be summed up through a few small scenes from missionary life:

We were having a conversation with two couples and we got into a theological discussion about the nature of God and were chatting about it when a fellow in the group, who is very big and tall who always wears suspenders said, in such a tone as to settle the matter once and for all, “Ahhhh testifahhh to you….. that Gaaahd…. is a perfecteeeeeeeeed…… glorifaaahhhhhhhhd….. MAYUN.”
A pair of Jehovah’s Witnesses rang the doorbell at our apartment, which was an event with an irony I’m still trying to wrap my head around. We traded materials and there’s still a copy of The Watchtower lying around somewhere.
I ate dinner at a house on Tally Ho Road, which runs parallel to Leather Lane and Ole Barn Road. The family I was eating with told me about shoveling the walkways of two of their neighbors, one of whom is named Big Dog and the other who goes by Pappy.
On Thursday at 6:30 I woke up with a sore throat and a sniffle, looked at the blizzard outside, told my companion “I feel like a garbage can.” and went back to sleep until 6:30 that evening.
I’m happy to report that I feel much less like a garbage can now and that the snow has mostly melted. Those obstacles aside, we had another week of great teaching, even when we had to teach an 80-year-old widow about the law of chastity.
At District Meeting, where the missionaries in the area gather to talk about how our progress is going, give each other support, and share advice, I was called to be the “District Fireball” which is a calling where I keep everyone pumped during the meeting.
I had a dream that I was on American Idol with some of the missionaries I was in the MTC with and President Eyring. I also had a dream in which one of the ward members said to me, “Whatever the question is, look at your palm. There is the answer.” and I woke up and wrote it down because I thought it was really important at the time. What does it all mean??? Fax me some halibut???
I really enjoy working with the ward, including driving out to an address West Virginians often refer to as “40th and Plum” as in “40 miles out of town an plum up the holler” (seriously though, I’ve heard that joke at least three times since I got here) to help a sister who had a house fire clear out some of her belongings. She’s an amazing sister/total mountain woman and basically the whole ward was up there hauling stuff around to various locations. I love seeing that kind of community support and I love that as a missionary I have been able to just jump into the center of ward activity. I went to sacrament meeting for the first time on Sunday (we didn’t have it last week because of stake conference) and I definitely could have named at least half of the people there.
The community as a whole is also wonderful. There is so much good work to do and I feel like my nets are full of fish to the point of breaking, if you will. I wish I had more time in each day to meet new people, study, build up the community, teach people, help people make progress they want to make, do service, write letters, etc etc etc. It is really great to feel useful and like I have something to offer that people want and need.
Finally, here is my spiritual thought of the week, which my companion taught me: specific prayers get specific answers. As I’ve been voicing exactly what I need or exactly what I need to know, I’ve been able to see more clearly the hand of God in my life. Try’ton!
I’ll just include my contact info in every email because it is so much subject to change. Write me letters! at 14 Deerbrook Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414
I love you humans a lot and I hope you are all doing great and don’t feel at all like a garbage can.
Love,
Sister Askand (ye shall receive)
One thought on “Big Dog & Pappy

Leave a Reply

