a week of surprise

November 9

I think I might have been called to a different mission. Not in a bad way, though I do miss all the farmers. My area and work are very different, though. Here are some examples:

  • We’re in the YSA which means that we cover an entire stake as missionaries. I don’t know how I’m ever going to get familiar with the geography of an entire stake but I’ll just lean not unto my own understanding and rely on the Lord and the tools He has given us (GPS).
  • I’m serving in a branch, which feels very different. I looked around the chapel on Sunday and I new almost everyone’s name because there were only about 50 people there. It’s actually kind of nice.
  •  Much of our work revolves around ward activities and trying to encourage people to bring our friends.
  • We are out of the country and in more of a populated area. The east side of the mission and the west side of the mission are pretty different, and I have officially crossed over into the east from the Wild Wild West for the first time.
  • The area I’m in now is about 500% fancier than what I’m used to. I have dealt with and seen a lot of poverty in my mission but this are might not feature as much poverty as what I’m used to.
  • Columbia is a lot more diverse culturally than any of the other areas I’ve served in, which is great!
  • Also… usually if a missionary has a special assignment or calling the mission president calls them on the Sunday night before transfers. I guess they forgot about me because I got to transfer meeting and one of the sisters in a neighboring ward said, “Are you excited to be a Sister Trainer Leader?!” and I said, “What? You must have me mistaken for someone else!” but when I went to find my new companion I said “So….   are we sister trainer leaders?” Well, we are. This is kind of a new leadership position to provide training and support for sister missionaries, which is such a cool idea and also it’s a little terrifying for me. This is a position that the church is still developing so in a lot of ways it’s not completely structured, but I will go on exchanges pretty much every week this transfer. Fun!
It’s hard to leave an area and all the people you love. After our investigator got baptized last week, it was so hard to teach her final lesson (re-teaching the first lesson, actually) and say goodbye. We also found a new family to teach in Cumberland the day before I left! Oh life is hard.
I miss Sister Madsen so much and also I love Sister Rowley a lot. This is the eternal struggle of mission life: leaving something wonderful for something else wonderful. Sister Rowley is a great missionary and she is also pretty sporty. Our branch does sports night every week and I wanted to make a good impression the day after I arrived in the area so I kind of tried to participate. It was bad. Sports are hard. I’m just trying my best to stretch and grow on my mission and get out of my comfort zone though.
We had a pretty amazing lesson with an investigator in this area. It was one of those lessons where you know nothing is coming from either of you but that you have the privilege of being a vessel of the spirit. My companion and I both received and shared revelation and taught with great unity, which is a rare gift right at the beginning of a companionship. There’s some good work to do here and I am excited to really sink my teeth in.
Finally, a scripture that I have been loving this week has been Romans 8: “Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? … Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us. For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Jesus Christ.” Pretty much 100% of the things that Paul described will try to separate you from the love of God and of Christ, but you have all the power in the end.
Finally, I have a new address! Christen my mailbox! 5455 Columbia Rd. Apt 213 Columbia, MD 21044-5689
Hugs and handshakes,
Sister Angelsong
Leave a Reply

