hosanna

Easter is always a spiritual highlight. Always. What could be better than celebrating probably the best thing that has ever happened in human history, which is the day when death and pain and sin were forever conquered? I can’t think of anything. Holidays are always kind of special on the mission because you get to experience the ~true meaning~ and because you really can’t do what you feel like doing, rather you are doing the Lord’s work as usual. It’s a time when you have license to feel like a much better missionary than you actually are, just by virtue of not going on an egg hunt or getting a basket like you might want to. It’s great. We celebrated Easter in the following ways:

– introducing ourselves to all our neighbors and giving them copies of Finding Faith in Christ
– having a delicious Easter dinner with a sister whose kids were with their dad for the weekend, everyone cried a lot
– helping a family who recently joined the church make Easter dinner for their parents, who are still pretty unfriendly toward their decision
– singing Easter songs with the choir
– teaching a gospel principles lesson on the Atonement
We also spent a lot of the day just walking around doing regular missionary work, which felt so right. What better way to spend Easter than enthusiastically telling everyone about why we have Easter? In Mark 16 we read about the day Christ was resurrected. Mary Magdalene, Mary the mother of James, and Salome visit the garden tomb and find the stone rolled away from the door of the tomb and an angel where they expected Christ’s body. They were alarmed to see this heavenly messenger, but according to verse 6, “And he saith unto them, Be not affrighted: Ye seek Jesus of Nazareth, which was crucified: he is risen, he is not here: behold the place where they laid him. But go your way, tell his disciples and Peter that he goeth before you into Galilee: there shall ye see him as he said unto you.”  That is the first charge these good disciples receive when they discover that Jesus is risen: to share what they know. The final charge that Jesus Christ left during his short resurrected ministry is very similar, found in verse 15: “And he said unto them, Go ye unto all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.” Truly the most important thing that we can do with our knowledge that Jesus Christ lives is to share it. I have received a personal witness of the Living Christ and His love for me and it is my responsibility to share what I know. On Easter I had the opportunity to share my testimony of Jesus Christ many times, and I must say that I don’t think I have ever felt more powerful than I do when I’m telling people that I know that Jesus Christ is the Son of God, our living Redeemer, and that He loves us infinitely. The power I feel when I’m testifying is not my own, it is God’s power. It is the power of His love and Spirit. And it feels so good.
In addition to Easter, this week also featured a long, long leadership meeting and fireside. I got to drive in a minivan with my companion and five elders for many hours and spend many more hours being instructed by President. We also had a former member of the quorum of the seventy give a little fireside. It was fabulous. I learned so much and I love how many resources the Lord gives us to succeed. He knows us, He loves us, and He supports us in our work. It was also great to return to Columbia (where the training was held), especially because my sweet Hannah stopped by during dinner to give me a hug and so that I could give her a happy baptism-type of present. Also! Right before we got the text announcing our Mission Leadership Council meeting, I said to my companion, “Sister Rogers, we should tell President that we want a little breakout for the sister training leaders to talk about specific concerns that we have. I think that would be really helpful.” and then we got a text saying that there would be a sisters’ breakout. Inspired!!! I was very impressed. And very tired. We didn’t get home until midnight. That’s the latest I’ve stayed out since last August.
We also got to go on exchanges with some wonderful sisters in Woodstock!! Oh they are such sweethearts. I was with Sister Rapier, a fabulous fireball who is about eight weeks into her mission. Their car is in the shop so we got to walk all day. Whew. Taking over the area when you’re brand new can be intimidating, but she is a champ. For our final visit of the evening, she give me a list of names and asked me which one felt right. One name jumped out at me very strongly so we walked to the campus of a boarding school, having no idea how we were going to get in to see this young person. We ran into a few students and asked them if they knew the person we were visiting. They did! They took us to her and as we sat down and talked it became clear that Sister Rapier had a special connection with our new investigator. They had both faced very, very similar tragedies in their families and other challenges. I just sat their in awe as my companion knew exactly how to succor this wonderful sister. It was incredible. Two of her friends came out and seemed interested as well. I love missionary work.
This weekend also included the general women’s session! HOLY hannah it was good stuff. I LOVED Sister Marriott’s talk. Watch it all right here! https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2016/04?cid=HP_SA_3-26-2016_dPFD_fGC_xLIDyL1-B_&lang=eng
Finally, a little Easter song from the old Primary song book:
The seeds and flow’rs are sleeping sound
‘Till Easter time, Till Easter time
And then they rise above the ground
At happy Easter time
And as they rise from sleep they say
That we shall wake someday
The singing birds come back again
At Easter time, At Easter time
The little streams are waking then
At happy Easter time
And as they sing with joy they say
That we shall wake someday
The butterflies and moths arise
At Easter time, At Easter time
And spread their wings in glad surprise
At happy Easter time
And as they rise they seem to say
That we shall wake someday
OK my team, I love you dearly and deeply and forever. Write me!! 841 Thomas Ct. #57 Winchester, VA 22601
hallelujah,
Sister Argonaut
Inline image 1
Leave a Reply

