the garbage flu

We had an eventful week so hold on tight. In the middle of it I got what we’ll call the “garbage flu” which was mostly a long practice in nausea endurance and reading Jesus the Christ in bed for a few days. In the middle of it we had a few lessons and dinner appointments (including one with the bishop, awkward) that I hazily remember sitting through, eyelids propped open with toothpicks. I think I bore my testimony. I mean, I hope so. Having a sick companion is the worst so poor Sister Rogers was trying to feel productive the whole time, running around tidying up and texting people for appointments and falling asleep in her quad. You know, the usual.

We also had a wonderful exchange this week with our buddies in Front Royal. I got to be temporary companions with Sister Thayne, a fellow Provo girl. We enjoyed reminiscing about our former home. She’s a great missionary and it is such a blessing to be yoked with so many different and wonderful sisters. Also, we did a “service” project wherein a member was cleaning out her makeup kit and just gave us a bunch of her old makeup because we kept her company and cheered her on. Anyway I love being a missionary.
On Wednesday we brought two of our young investigators to activity days and mutual. We split up in order to cover more ground and I sat next to the young man we were teaching as we enjoyed the evening’s Disney-themed lip sync activity. Welcome to the life of an LDS youth, I thought. I think he liked it though. They joined us at church that Sunday and I could see that the talks in Sacrament Meeting were exactly what they needed. Their parents mostly speak Spanish so the Spanish missionaries will begin teaching them this week, I’m really excited for them.
Finally….. it’s time for transfers. Sister Rogers is leaving me 😥 and trading places with a certain Sister Anderson of Hagerstown. I am excited about my new companion, she’s really wonderful. Both of the elders are leaving and we’re getting two new ones, plus we are about to get a new Ward Mission Leader. It’s going to be a little wild this transfer. I’ll be the de facto ringleader. Pray for us.
My upcoming transfer theme will be The Book of Mormon! Our mission president invited us recently to begin using the Book of Mormon more in our teaching and I want it to be a greater part of my life and of who I am. We often speak of missionary work as harvesting grain and thrusting in our sickle. The Book of Mormon is our sickle! It is the tool God has provided us in this time in human history to help people know whether or not what we’re teaching is true and it is also our own personal tool for conversion. I love the Book of Mormon. It’s like magic.
Well little beans, I will have exactly the same address!  Because I’m not getting transferred, whew. 841 Thomas Ct. #57 Winchester, VA 22601
Hugs and handshakes,
Sister Angel
Leave a Reply

