the shower

Every week here in Winchester we see a shower of blessings, both literal and figurative. It has rained more days than not this month. We also have been teaching some amazing new people! For example, we got a call last week from our mission president’s wife, who is an actual angel. She told us that she was passing through the area when she popped in to buy something at the local CVS. At the cash register the woman working there looked at Sister Christiansen’s name tag and said “Are you from a Christian church?!” She got so excited and said she had been looking for a church. After we got this wonderful phone call, we went immediately to the aforementioned local CVS. There was a man working at the register so we walked a slow circle around the store. We didn’t see her so we decided to come back later. As we walked out of the store, it felt like my legs were turning into cement. I honestly could not walk another step. I said, “Companion, we need to turn around.” And we went to the register and asked for the interested party in question. The cashier called her and she came to the register with a confused look on her face, then nearly jumped out of her socks in excitement/surprise when she saw our tags. “You’re from the church!!” she said. Yes we are. We scheduled an appointment at the home of some members who have kids about the same age as her son. It was such a great lesson!!! She’s amazing!!! Everyone is amazing! We kept talking about the hypothetical “when you find your answer” and finally she corrected us and said, “I got my answer when that nice blonde lady walked through the door. I had been praying to find a church and the Lord sent one to me.” :’)
We also got to go on an exchange with the Harpers Ferry sisters. Sister Sobieralski and I have a long history together, I have been her STL pretty much her whole mission and have followed her from area to area. That’s how you can tell it’s meant to be. She’s just a sweet, delightful little seahorse. We ALSO got to have dinner with some members who I used to teach when they were very new in the church a year ago. The mom in the family said, “You’re not the shy little girl I used to know! When I first met ya I thought, she looks just like a porcelain doll!” So cute. They have just been blossoming and growing. Nothing is more rewarding than the success of people you work with on your mission.
SPEAKING of which, we brought our investigator to the visitor’s center this weekend! We have some awesome members who are very intellectual and well-studied, which was the perfect fit because this investigator is working on her dissertation for her computer science Ph.D right now. We had a nice long drive down to learn nearly everything that has ever been revealed about the plan of salvation together and we got to talk about art history. Yes. My poor companion just fell asleep as soon as we got to Dali. It was probably for the better. Anyway she loved the visitor’s center and the temple and as we testified of the Savior, we extended a baptismal date to our investigator and she accepted!! We were telling her about some things she would need to do to qualify and we explained the word of wisdom. She said, “No coffee? Well, okay.” Pure gold!! Even though she teased Sister Anderson a little for crying while she was bearing her testimony. She’ll get used to it.
On Thursday we had our Mission Leadership Council, which is always just a fun exploration of the gospel and missionary work and learning together and trying not to get run over by the herd of zone leaders. This time our mission president and his wife got kind of sidetracked talking about scatological stories about their grandkids… nobody really knew what to do. It was hilarious. We also enjoyed many hours in the mission minivan with two sets of ZLs. You can imagine. Later that night we went to visit one of our members, a wonderful young woman in the ward. When we got there, her nonmember friend was around too, looking kind of shy. Finally she said, “I was wondering if you could do a lesson with me tonight?” Yeah, I think we can meet that request.
Finally on Sunday I got another blast from the past from my Charles Town days when our former ward mission leader was a visiting speaker!! I shook his hand enthusiastically before the meeting and as he began to speak I was sitting comfortably when he said, “I was drinkin from the watering fountain when I heard a voice say my nayme! I looked over and it was none other than Sister Aysplund. I remember her early days in the beginning of the mission. She was just so… (at this point I could just hear him ruling various adjectives out)… energetic. And such a blessing to our ward.” I just blushed and was heartwarmed and everything.
This week I saw that the Lord has the power and the desire to multiply our efforts. Just think of how He multiplied the loaves and the fishes: a young boy had a meager offering, which was all he had but still not enough to feed thousands. He put everything he had in the hands of the Savior and it was enough. So it is with our efforts. I do not have personal power to bring anyone to conversion but when I give the Lord my everything He multiplies it to make it sufficient. Hallelujah!
Thanks for being my friends. I love you. Write me! 841 Thomas Ct. #57, Winchester VA 22601
Hugs and handshakes,
Sister Pampered
Leave a Reply

